top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexander Asiedu

THE NIGHT BEFORE I DIED *Chapter 1*

Updated: Dec 20, 2020


"That night was creepy cold, the skies were sombre and starless as the stars flee the lucid sky. Darkness had deepened, loneliness set inside of me, I was the worst of myself and felt lost in the world. None saw my pain and no one cared about my cry. I was left to beg for another day to fix my broken ways but all I got was emptiness from a mere world of disappointment; a world of fake smiles; a world of loving wolves assuring not to eat you; a world of unfulfilled promises and a world of lost love." I am angered whenever I say this but I died knowing they still exist even amongst you. Annabel and I tied the knot in a Catholic church somewhere in my mom's birth land six months after her burial, how I wished mom had seen me in that oversized black suit smiling and screaming my heart out. She would have been happier than I was on my wedding day. As her only child and the only family she knew, everything about me kept her either smiling or tearing up, so I knew for a fact that, marrying Annabel was what she would have wanted the most cause she pushed me into getting to know her, "don't be shy, try to know her better maybe one.. dayy!!!" she said to me one time when Annabel had come to check up on her in excitement and chuckled at her last word. Mom had died of a disease common to most women; breast cancer and it was a tremendous shock to everyone who loved and cherished her when she faced her untimely death soon after she was diagnosed of the disease. We buried her on April 22nd, 1972 in Lexis town; her birth land. Marrying Annabel there was a way of showing respect to my late mother and at least receiving her blessings in my marital live. The genesis of my life started somewhere in middle June 1943 and was concurrent with heavy rains. Mom had been through hell just to have me that night since there was no doctor at our disposal. She gave birth to me all alone in a condensed moisture of an atmosphere falling visibly in separate drops. That night symbolized rage, pain and sorrow for me but to my mother it was a new beginning of something much better. We moved out of Lexis because life became tougher, there was no money to carter for expenses such as food, water and clothing . Before attaining age 4, we had moved severally in and out of towns and finally settled in D'xan; a town rich in soil and resources. Rebecca soon became the house help of the town's richest farmer........"WAIT!! Did I skip something,...hmmm. Uhmmm, oohh yes!, I forgot to say that mom was called Rebecca". Rebecca Holiday was mom's actual name, she got the name from the Orphan home where she had grew up in; " The Holiday Orphanage" also in Lexis town.



WATCH OUT FOR *CHAPTER 2*.......Coming soon

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page